Less Pain

Standard
Bob's Red Mill

Image via Wikipedia

Seems getting rid of wheat was a good decision.  My inflammation has significantly reduced since I stopped eating what proved to be an allergen.  I’m not 100%, but there are a lot of other factors leading to my chronic pain and other issues.  The fact that I can now feel aches in specific places (knees, lower back) rather than a near-constant swath of pain across my body with tenderness almost everywhere is a good reason to continue abstaining from wheat.

Of course, I had a mild flare up the other day, and went over in my head what I’d eaten.  I called Bob’s Red Mill because I’d eaten their organic Scottish oatmeal–I’m addicted to it–and Andre told me that there’s a cross-contamination issue.  I have to wonder how they can call it organic unless the only cross-contamination is with other organic products.  They have yet to provide a gluten-free Scottish oatmeal, though they have other forms, none can compare.  Alas!

I did find something good, though, this recipe for wheat free bagels looks as though it could be adjusted to include the extras I like including jalapeno-cheddar, poppyseed, or blueberry.  I could also make my own flavors if I want.  That’s, of course, assuming I can ever get yeast to obey me.

For those that like oatmeal and often make more than they need (a bad good habit of mine), you can save the extra for a different treat the next day.  While it’s still warm, take the oatmeal from the pan and pour it into a glass container.  I prefer a rectangular, short-walled container with a snap-on lid.  Use a spoon or spatula to smooth it flat, cover it, and place it in the fridge.  The next morning, slice it into thick strips, place in a non-stick or well-seasoned iron skillet, add a dash of cinnamon, and fry on both sides until golden brown.  Serve with a dollop of butter (or substitute) and a drizzle of agave syrup, maple, or honey.

The key to its firm consistency is to not add any type of milk or toppers (e.g. nuts, fruit, et al) into the oatmeal before placing it in reserve.  I flavor the pot of oatmeal with sea salt, raw sugar, cinnamon, and butter or Earth Balance.  I only add almond milk to the bowls along with any add ons each of us like (I most love putting walnuts and bananas or apple slices on the bottom of the bowl and mixing them in after, so they get cooked slightly by the heat of the oats).

4 responses »

  1. One thing you might try, which Morgan is working on as part of her attempts to help her pain and fibro issues through diet, is cutting out nightshades.

    It sucks, because it means no tomatoes, peppers, several berries, etx, but it seems to be helping.

    • Thanks, Archer, but there’s not a chance I’m gonna give up my tomatoes, potatoes, eggplant or bell peppers. It’s hard enough giving up wheat. However, if my next allergy test (a full 126 allergen panel) shows an allergy to them… I might be stocking up on sleeping pills.

      • Just offering suggestions. 🙂 But nix the sleeping pills – we need you here!

    • I wouldn’t really, I just probably would keep eating them. Maybe not all the time, I might cut back on those that I eat most, but I could eat something if I planned to just be low energy the next day. But bah, I don’t want to think about giving up such flavorful, succulent, and comforting foods. Isn’t going wheat free enough? (I have no regrets about making the other dietary changes that I have.)

Leave a Reply

